non vegan ingredients

Non-Vegan Ingredients

For Vegans, it isn’t just important to be aware of Vegan ingredients in the food you consume, but the ingredients your hair consumes as well. These are one of the most used ingredients in curly hair products that all your Vegans should avoid.

These ingredients may be derived from animals and therefore are considered not Vegan. Always check the product labeling and look for the “VEGAN” seal.

Caprylic Acid is a lubricant and emollient, often less oily or greasy that plant or mineral oils and, therefore, gives the hair a soft, velvety feel without making it feel heavy or thick. It is also known as Octanoic Acid or Caprylamine Oxide, it is a fatty acid found in goat’s, cow’s, and sheep’s milk as well as in coconut, palm, and other plant oils, therefore not vegan.

Cera Alba (Beeswax) is a thickener that can be emollient. This might be difficult to rinse out, depending on the formulation. Beeswax is also an important ingredient in hair pomades.

Cera Alba also known as beeswax is a form of pure wax derived from bee honey combs. Vegan alternatives to beeswax include Candelilla Wax, Carnauba Wax, Soy Wax, Bayberry Wax, and some Synthetic Beeswax.

Mel (Honey) is naturally occurring substance, honey, a saccharic secretion gathered and stored by honey bees. Honey is not vegan. It is made by bees as food for themselves and their young. Honey is used as a coloring and an emollient in cosmetics and as a flavoring in foods.

Collagen is a fibrous protein in vertebrates and is usually derived from the tissue of killed animals. However, vegan plant collagen is becoming increasingly popular. 

Collagen is known to make a more rigid film on the hair, and it tends to flake.

Collagen Amino Acid is a very strong humectant, helping pull water in from the hair more so than even glycerin. Collagen Amino Acids are probably not vegan. They are Amino Acids derived from Collagen, which is a protein usually obtained from killed animals. 

Keratin is a type of protein found in hair, wool, feathers and horn, fingernails and skin. Keratin is known for having great coating abilities. This means they don’t wash out of hair as easily. Also, they don’t flake on your hair the way collagen proteins can.

Keratin is probably not vegan. It is a protein usually derived from ground-up hooves, horns, feathers, quills, and hair of various captive and killed animals. However, just in the last few years some vegan plant-derived keratins have become available.

Lanolin Alcohol is an excellent conditioning agent for both skin and hair.

Lanolin Alcohol is not vegan because it is obtained from the hydrolysis of Lanolin, a wax secreted by wool-bearing animals such as sheep.

Royal Jelly aka Royal Jelly Extract is one of the richest sources of protein and vitamins. A water-soluble ingredient, containing 17 amino acids, abundant levels of B vitamins and minerals, it is one of the most powerful nutrients in the fight against aging skin and inflammatory skin conditions, where it stimulates cellular renewal and the promotion and synthesis of collagen.

Royal Jelly is not began because it is secreted by the glands of worker honey bees to give nutrition to larvae and the queen bee.